Calling all 401(k) Participants: Are You the Next 401(k) Champion®? Competition deadline extended to Thursday Oct. 28, 2021

STAMFORD, CT, October 01, 2021 /24-7PressRelease/ — The deadline to apply for the third annual 401(k) Champion® Award has been extended to Thursday, Oct. 28, 2021, announced Julie Jason, sponsor of the award. The 401(k) Champion® is the only national award that recognizes 401(k) participants who “love” their 401(k)s.

Those who apply for the award will compete for three $1,000 prizes by writing essays explaining how they not only use their 401(k)s to save for retirement, but also how they might encourage others to do the same. Apply today at

Inspiring grassroots education and encouragement

“A peer-to-peer message from one 401(k) participant to another,” said Jason, “can be more powerful than reading a brochure, attending an employee enrollment session, or trying to navigate an online tool. That’s what this award is all about—inspiring grassroots education and encouragement.”

David Wray, retired Plan Sponsor Council of America President who is serving as an adviser to the 401(k) Champion® effort, added: “I have learned from years of experience that 401(k) success is enhanced when principles are not only taught but reinforced by trusted co-workers.”

About the 401(k) Champion® Award – Learning and Leadership

Jason created the 401(k) Champion® Award in 2018 after recognizing that, within the 401(k) space, there were awards that honored plan sponsors, but none that focused on 401(k) participants.

“It was time to shine a light on participants who not only knew how to optimize their 401(k)s but encouraged others to do the same,” said Jason. “That’s what the 401(k) Champion® competition is all about.”

Three 401(k) Champions® will receive cash awards of $1,000 each based on an essay submitted online. A panel of judges will consider applicants’ answers to two questions: 1) If you were to advise co-workers on why they should participate in (and/or maximize) their 401(k)s, what would you say? 2) What actions have you taken to inspire non-participants to participate in the 401(k)?

Compete for the Title of 2021 401(k) Champion®

401(k) participants can compete for the title of 401(k) Champion® by applying at Plan sponsors are encouraged to share information about the award with 401(k) participants and are free to nominate candidates. (See nomination rules and deadlines at

The award is open to all ages 21 or older who currently participate in their 401(k)s, whether working or retired. Applications must be received by Thursday, Oct. 28. See the award rules at

About the Judges

The applications will be judged by: Nevin Adams Chief Content Officer with the American Retirement Association; Anthony Aiken, CPA, retired founder of Aiken & Company, PC; Adam Berkowitz, Associate Executive Director of New Heights Youth, Inc.; Manny Bernardo, retired Human Resources Benefits Executive; Rebecca Moore, Associate Director at ISS Media, and the digital managing editor of PLANSPONSOR. The American Retirement Association, PLANSPONSOR and ISS are not affiliated with the 401(k) Champion® Award Competition or the award’s sponsors, nor are the other companies noted.

About the Sponsors

Julie Jason is a long-time vocal proponent of investor education. Her first two books focused on 401(k)s. In 1996, she authored “You and Your 401(k): How to Manage Your 401(k) for Maximum Returns,” and in 1997, “The 401(k) Plan Handbook,” a guide for sponsors. Her more recent books include “The Retirement Survival Guide” (2017 update of “The AARP Retirement Survival Guide”) and “Retire Securely,” both recipients of the EIFLE (Excellence in Financial Literacy Education) Award. Her upcoming book is a retirement guide for lawyers, called “The Discerning Investor,” to be published by the American Bar Association.

Jason is the founder of Jackson, Grant Investment Advisers, Inc., investment counsel serving high-net-worth families.

For the original version of this press release, please visit here