The club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious honors in college & HS basketball

ATLANTA, GA, September 08, 2021 /24-7PressRelease/ — The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced the appointment of Marques C. Burnett to its Board of Directors. As co-founder and CEO of The Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV) & SUVtv, Burnett has built a hoops platform centered around the coverage, development, and empowerment of the basketball community at all levels. He joins a dynamic collection of individuals and businesses that support the game of basketball in various ways.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club was founded in the late 1950’s as a way for local basketball enthusiasts to share their love and enjoyment of the gamel. The mission of the organization is to promote, develop and celebrate the sport in metro Atlanta and throughout the state of Georgia. The club’s annual Naismith Awards recognize the top players and coaches in women’s and men’s basketball at the national, state and local level.

In addition to the awards and recognition the Atlanta Tipoff Club (ATOC) provides at the local, state, and national level, the ATOC contributes to communities with special projects and programming. The Villages at Carver Family YMCA recently completed a gymnasium renovation, after being selected by community sponsors seeking to invest in the local basketball community. This past month, the ATOC officially dedicated the newly renovated gymnasium. Following the ceremony, a youth basketball clinic was held by Atlanta Hawks members and local high school basketball coaches.

“It’s an honor to be invited to join the Atlanta Tipoff Club and Naismith Awards Board of Directors. The efforts & impact of Eric Oberman, the ATOC as a whole, and the entire board has been tremendous,” said Burnett. “I look forward to being a part of a team committed to providing enrichment, recognition, and added value for the game and the community it serves.”
Burnett, founded The Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV) to address a unique set of needs in the sports space – at all levels. Born and raised in Indiana, Burnett’s affinity for basketball runs deep, and it was a big part of why SUVtv was created to address the lack of basketball broadcasts in Atlanta and the Southeast in the early 2000s. As part of over 25,000 broadcasts since then, SUVtv has featured the likes of Trae Young, Anthony Edwards, Collin Sexton, Sharife Cooper, and more while becoming a thought leader by example in the basketball space.

“The Atlanta Tipoff Club is thrilled to have Marques join our Board of Directors, made up of some of basketball’s most important contributors and businesses that support our sport, ” says Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club, “Marques brings his media expertise and his love for basketball to the table and we know he will be able to impact basketball and the Naismith Awards.”

Later this month, The Naismith Awards Invitational presented by Jersey Mike’s, the official annual golf tournament of the Naismith Awards, will take place at the Capital City Club Brookhaven course – a 5-star rated venue located in the Buckhead community of Atlanta. Each year the event brings together elite coaches, former players and media from the world of college basketball.

About SUVtv
As the content arm of The Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV), SUVtv is an Atlanta-based broadcast and original content platform providing thousands of live streams and archives for basketball fans and additional sports audiences. The SUVtv pipeline includes over 15,000 hours of premium hoops content that spans from grassroots to professional levels. For more information, visit

Media Contact
Charious McLaurin
[email protected]
Phone: (404)849-2076

Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.

For the original version of this press release, please visit here